Chronicle of a Second Shooter

In October of last year, my best friend Laurie was still pregnant with her, as we now know, beautiful little girl Clara.  Laurie had scheduled a maternity session with my fabulously talented wife and partner photographer Stephanie Lee.  Few people hire me for posed portraits and certainly not maternity photos but it was my best friend, her perfect husband and crazy kid so I couldn’t resist tagging along and bringing our daughter Harper and my favourite camera and lenses.

We arrived at the park early and I was taking a few photos of Harper with my Leica M6 TTL and ever classic, Kodak Tri-X.

EPSON scanner image
© 2015 Johnny Martyr | Leica M6 TTL .85 | Voigtländer 75mm 2.5 Heliar | Kodak Tri-X | Kodak HC110b

Finally Laurie, Mike and Nathan  arrived.  They are always late to scheduled events due to Laurie’s complete inability to choose what to wear.  Just teasing Bestie!  😛

So Steph started posing the happy, PUNCTUAL family and I wasn’t exactly sure where my place was in all this yet so I took a few shots alongside Steph.  I switched up from the Voigtländer 75mm to my Leitz 90mm f2 Summicron Pre-Aspheric.  Now I mean business!

EPSON scanner image
© 2015 Johnny Martyr | Leica M6 TTL .85 | Leitz 90mm f2 Summicron Pre-Asph | Kodak Tri-X | Kodak HC110b
EPSON scanner image
© 2015 Johnny Martyr | Leica M6 TTL .85 | Leitz 90mm f2 Summicron Pre-Asph| Kodak Tri-X | Kodak HC110b

It didn’t take me long to realise that I was more or less in the way and Harper was getting bored with no one to play with as everyone around her worked.

EPSON scanner image
© 2015 Johnny Martyr | Leica M6 TTL .85 | Leitz 5cm 1.5 Summarit | Kodak Tri-X | Kodak HC110b
EPSON scanner image
© 2015 Johnny Martyr | Leica M6 TTL .85 | Leitz 5cm 1.5 Summarit | Kodak Tri-X | Kodak HC110b

For the next round of photos, Steph wanted Laurie and Mike without Nathan, so I was on kid duty.  It was then that I found my role as the second shooter while following Harper and Nathan around with my Leica.

EPSON scanner image
© 2015 Johnny Martyr | Leica M6 TTL .85 | Leitz 5cm 1.5 Summarit | Kodak Tri-X | Kodak HC110b
EPSON scanner image
© 2015 Johnny Martyr | Leica M6 TTL .85 | Leitz 5cm 1.5 Summarit | Kodak Tri-X | Kodak HC110b
EPSON scanner image
© 2015 Johnny Martyr | Leica M6 TTL .85 | Leitz 5cm 1.5 Summarit | Kodak Tri-X | Kodak HC110b
EPSON scanner image
© 2015 Johnny Martyr | Leica M6 TTL .85 | Leitz 5cm 1.5 Summarit | Kodak Tri-X | Kodak HC110b
EPSON scanner image
© 2015 Johnny Martyr | Leica M6 TTL .85 | Leitz 5cm 1.5 Summarit | Kodak Tri-X | Kodak HC110b

Soon Mike ran over and had to get Nathan out of the tree.  The maternity shoot was over but I had a blast working as Stephanie’s second shooter.  It’s nice when you find your place in the world!

EPSON scanner image
© 2015 Johnny Martyr | Leica M6 TTL .85 | Leitz 5cm 1.5 Summarit | Kodak Tri-X | Kodak HC110b
Leave a Reply

