I Don’t Shoot Expired Film, Maybe You Shouldn’t Either

by Johnny Martyr

Look, I don’t want to curtail anyone’s creativity, but I think it’s worth rethinking how readily many photographers shoot expired film.

For me, shooting paid work, I never ever take client photos on expired film. And I really don’t use it for personal work either because to me, it’s just not worth it.

Now, if you can save a few bucks on low ISO or b&w film that’s a few months out of date, it’s probably going to be fine. Or if you like learning about chemistry or appreciate the drab, muted colors that often come with expired color stock, I’m not going to argue that.

But if you’re buying more film than you can use in a reasonable amount of time with the goal to save money and you think there are no consequences to shooting expired film, I would like to share some of my thoughts if you wouldn’t mind giving them a read.

Expired Film Curls

The longer that roll film is curled up, the harder it is to flatten when drying for scanning or printing. Some films are worse than others. And some drying environments are worse than others. But the expiration date that manufacturers put on film does not just mean that the images won’t turn out, it also means that the product will become increasingly more difficult to work with just in terms of handling.

Expired Film Imprints Backing Paper Text

Text and icons from 120 backing paper can become imprinted on your negatives when the ink chemically reacts with the film slowly over time. This issue is not a result of light striking the backing paper as many believe and it’s unclear if refrigeration or freezing really stop this reaction from occurring. Composition of ink and paper vary in manufacturing from time to time. So even if you have some rolls of expired 120 that didn’t exhibit this issue, you might encounter some that do simply because of these undisclosed manufacturing changes.

The Higher the ISO, the Faster Film Expires

I shoot alot of 3200 ISO film, both Ilford Delta and Kodak TMAX. And I have seen 3200 speed films show significant base fog just months out of expiration when not refrigerated and within a year with refrigeration. I don’t have exact math on this, because I play it safe and have only seen these issues in rare circumstances where I inadvertently purchased late or post dated film. Don’t forget that even if you freeze film, this won’t stop natural background radiation from slowly degrading your film. While the pace may be acceptable for a 100 ISO, the faster the film, the faster it will degrade. Those claiming their frozen, expired film “came out perfect” probably haven’t actually compared their results to fresh film and are missing issues that would be apparent if they did.

Expired Film Adds a Troubleshooting Variable

When you process expired film and find any kind of issues with it, now you’ve added a variable that must be considered. Are your shots, underexposed for example, because of a metering problem? A shutter problem? Or because your film has lost sensitivity due to its expiration? There are enough things that can go wrong with vintage film cameras, exposing and processing film that I personally don’t need to add anything else! Do you?

Cold-Storing Film Is A Job In Itself

By keeping film in your common-use kitchen refrigerator with off-gassing food and condensation-making beverages, you risk damage to your film. Proper cold storage necessitates a dedicated film fridge. The cost of which could have been spent on fresh film. And this refrigerator uses additional electricity too. Frozen or refrigerated film should also be double bagged in Ziploc’s and silica gel packets kept in them to prevent moisture from accumulating. The plastic bags get brittle over time and need to be replaced. The silica gel packets need to be dried in a microwave occasionally. It all seems cheap and easy enough but costs and efforts add up over time and defeat the purpose at some point. I used to proudly refrigerate my film too, but tending to it was a pain. So I stopped. Fresh film, exposed and processed within the expiration date does not require refrigeration.

Don’t Be An Addict. Don’t Be A Hoarder

For some reason, the film photography community likes to celebrate addiction and hoarding. Addiction to buying and hoarding cameras and addiction to buying and hoarding film. Yet the community doesn’t seem to celebrate addiction to publishing photos or hoarding printed photographs.

Ironically, within groups dedicated to the practice of film photography, digital snapshots of the largest, most embarrassing hoard of unused film seem to win social media competitions for likes.

Film photography is a very physical hobby when you’re actually shooting and processing daily or weekly. You’re constantly going places, working a camera with your hands, and then spending hours on your feet, working with your hands to process and scan the film. It seems strange to me that people who prefer this manual workflow to automated digital ones have time to sit in front of their mini-fridge typing up inventories too. Replace all the addictive shopping and tending to your hoard with the work required to be an active photographer. Submit your photos to magazines. Make prints. Don’t get so distracted by the gear that you forget the point of owning it.

Support Film Photography

When you buy fresh film, you support the manufacture of more fresh film. You also support your own photography with dependable, predictable results. All this adds up to a sustainable and fruitful film photography ecosystem and community.

I Don’t Shoot Expired Film, Maybe You Shouldn’t Either

Even if after reading my arguments for not shooting expired film, you still want to shoot expired film, be my guest. If you are hopelessly addicted to shopping and want to hoard film, refrigerate film, construct The Great Library of Alexandria for Expired Film Archives, please, seriously. Be. My. Guest.

Photography and art are all about diversity, and far be it from me to dictate how people should do things. I just wanted to tell you my reasons for not shooting expired film. If you agree with me, great. If you don’t, all that I can say is that I’m sure I’ll shoot enough fresh film for both of us.

Thanks for reading and happy shooting!


Follow, Favorite, Like, Add, Insult, Contact
Johnny Martyr 

     


Or, if you’re all stocked up on film but still have some cash to burn, don’t let me stop you from purchasing unremarkable but necessary domestic junk, shamelessly plastered with my photographs from this REDBUBBLE site!

8 thoughts on “I Don’t Shoot Expired Film, Maybe You Shouldn’t Either

Add yours

  1. I did my early training in the darkroom but I didn’t know much about actually making pictures. I did a wedding on film in 2008 and was disappointed with the results which was totally my fault. 1997 to 2008 was all film but with 11 kids it was easier to switch.

    Like

  2. Solid perspective.

    I shoot a fair amount of expired film.

    I occasionally buy Verichrome Pan and Plus-X that’s always been stored frozen, because I love those stocks. These stocks are very hardy and always turn out well.

    A reader sent me about 50 rolls of various discontinued stocks that he bought new and froze immediately, and I’m slowly burning through them. This has been more of a mixed bag in results, so I always shoot them on things that don’t matter to me. But this has been a surprising amount of fun.

    I did hoard Fujicolor 200 for a while last year when I could get the Made in Japan stuff still. I’ve got probably 50 rolls left. It’s my go-to color film — I _know_ this film — and I was loath to lose it. But yeah, storing it is a problem. It takes up a good chunk of the family’s freezer.

    All that said, for work that matters it’s fresh film all the way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I actually have a small collection of Verichrome in various formats in a vintage Kodak store display, but it’s for decoration/keepsake.

      I can completely respect enjoying any expired film from an artistic perspective or the utilitarian desire not to let something that one already has go to waste. There are practical and artistic reasons to and not to shoot expired film for sure.

      Like you with Fujicolor 200, I was saddened enough by the loss of Agfa Vista 400 (the German one) and Fuji FP-3000b that I stockpiled those when their discontinuations were announced.

      I am mostly targeting the act of building the core of ones film ecosystem around overstuffed film fridges under the illusion of economy and geek status!

      Like

  3. Thank you for this post, Johnny. It’s good food for thought.

    When I got back into film four years ago, I remember the exhortations of “Buy expired film” from some YouTubers. I did, and it was fine for a bit. But their whole reason for doing it–because it’s cheaper–went out the window once pandemic hit. People started to sell expired stock for more than fresh stock! So what’s the point, then?

    The only expired stock I really went after for a while was cold-stored slide film, since I like slide film and fresh stock has gotten really expensive. I had good luck with the Elite Chrome and Ektachrome from one eBay seller, but the Fuji slide films were hit-and-miss. I shot some Sensia on a coast bike tour, and did not get good results. So I’ve stopped buying expired slide stock. If I’m going to go through the trouble of shooting slide film, I want the results to be good.

    The film freezer did get a bit unwieldy for a bit, as I stocked up as much as possible during those lean years of pandemic when shops would be out of pretty much all color negative stock for weeks to months at a time. So I’m trying to deplete that back stock, and also assess my film needs. I recently sold a bunch of rolls for $4 apiece at a camera swap as I wanted to quickly get rid of stock. I realized that I’d either never shoot my stock of Kentmere and Fomapan 100, or if I did, because I felt like I “needed” to.

    The only film that I’m “hoarding” now is the Japan-only Fujicolor 100 that I got in Tokyo last year. It’s hard-to-impossible to find that stock State-side, so I got a bunch and am slowly working through it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I agree – mostly! I did inherit a supply of expired film from the estate of a pro photographer friend, stored in a dedicated fridge from the time he went digital in the mid 2000s. The Polaroid film was no good, but the other stock has so far worked out OK. There was a lot of T-max 100, and a variety of colour film, mostly the old Portra emulsions and some slide film stocks. The Portra has been quite good, haven’t worked up the courage to shoot any of the Provia or Ekachrome yet though. I did stock up a little when COVID hit and there were shortages, a tiny bit of that has just gone out of date, but it will be used soon. If film is given to me, and I know it has been stored well I will give it a try, but otherwise like you I prefer fresh stock, especially for anything important!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Discover more from The Thoughts & Photography of Johnny Martyr

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading